NAACP-LICB Honors Sister Elizabeth A. Hill

February 23, 2009

PATCHOGUE, NY FEBRUARY 24, 2009 The National Association for the Advancement of Colored Peoples Long Island Coalition of Branches (NAACP-LICB) honored St. Josephs College President S. Elizabeth A. Hill, C.S.J., J.D. with its Centennial Award at the Ninth Annual Freedom Fund Luncheon on Saturday, February 7, 2009 at Suffolk Community College, Brentwood Campus in Brentwood, NY.

Brookhaven NAACP Branch President Rev. Beresford Adams presented S. Elizabeth Hill with this years centennial award for being an "unsung hero in the community and for her tireless efforts to promote justice and equality, while supporting the advancement of people of all colors through education. The event, which marked the 100th anniversary celebration of the NAACP and welcomed more than 1,000 guests, included members of the Long Island business community as well as local elected officials. The Rev. Al Sharpton, president of the National Action Network, one of the nations leading civil rights organizations, served as keynote speaker.

"It is a great honor to receive this award from the NAACP, especially as it marks the anniversary of its 100th birthday on the heels of electing the nations first African-American president, said S. Elizabeth Hill. "It is vital, now more than ever, that we commit ourselves to coming together to tackle civil rights issues and to promote a higher level of collective responsibility for the human condition of all.

S. Elizabeth A. Hill, C.S.J., J.D. has been president of St. Josephs College since 1997. An active member of the Long Island community, she sits on the College of Advisors for ERASE Racism and is on the Steering Committee of the Long Island Regional Advisory Council on Higher Education (LIRACHE). She is also on the Board of Directors of the Commission on Independent Colleges and Universities (CICU), the Independence Community Foundation, the Brooklyn Chamber of Commerce, the Fort Greene Strategic Neighborhood Action Partnership (SNAP) and the Brookhaven Board of Ethics.