Three Eagles Share Skyline Scholar-Athlete of the Year Awards

July 08, 2012

PATCHOGUE, NY JULY 1, 2012 Three St. Joseph's cross-country runners have earned a share of the Skyline Conference Scholar-Athlete of the Year honor which encompasses all conference sponsored sports.

Brothers Eric and Evan Haun (Bayport, N.Y./Bayport-Blue Point) are two of the male winners. Eric, a senior, finished second in the Skyline meet, and Evan, a sophomore, and a repeat winner of this Scholar-Athlete award, finished third.  They share the honor with Farmingdale State senior Sean Tiernan, the individual medalist at the Skyline Championship.

On the womens side, cross country sophomore Caitlin Ryan (Farmingville, N.Y./Sachem East), who finished fifth in the Skyline Championship, shares the Scholar-Athlete honor with junior softball player Rachel Smith of The Sage Colleges.

The Male and Female Scholar-Athletes of the Year are the student-athletes in the conference with the highest grade point average among individuals earning first-team All-Skyline Conference honors.

All five of the aforementioned student-athletes garnered first-team All-Skyline distinction while achieving a perfect 4.0 grade point average during the season in which they competed.

Student-athletes from the leagues 17 different conference sports were named Skyline Conference Scholar-Athletes of the Year in their respective sports.

A total of 125 student-athletes from St. Joseph's College were named to the conference's academic honor roll this school year.  Seven Golden Eagles were named Skyline Scholar-Athletes of the Year in their respective sports.